UGC NET English Syllabus: Paper 2 Latest Syllabus

UGC NET English Syllabus

UGC NET aspirants can download or read UGC NET English Syllabus here. As you know NET is a National Eligibilty Test. Now a days NTA (National Testing Agency) conducts NET-JRF Exam.

The UGC NET exam has two papers, paper 1 and Paper 2. Paper one is common for all candidates and Paper 2 has particular subject related questions. Paper 1 consists of 50 questions of 100 marks, whereas paper 2 has 100 questions of 200 marks. There is no negative marking in this exam.

Both papers are divided in 10 units.

You Can download UGC NET Paper 1 Syllabus – Click Here


UGC has not given the detailed English Literature Syllabus.

Unit -I: – Drama

Unit -II : Poetry
Unit -III: Fiction, short story
Unit -IV : Non-Fictional Prose

NOTE: The first four units must also be tested through comprehension passages to assess critical reading, critical thinking and writing skills. These four units will cover all literatures in English.

Unit -V: Language: Basic concepts, theories and pedagogy. English in Use.
Unit -VI : English in India: history, evolution and futures
Unit -VII: Cultural Studies
Unit -VIII : Literary Criticism
Unit -IX: Literary Theory post World War II
Unit-X : Research Methods and Materials in English


This is the complete paper 2 UGC NET English Syllabus PDF. Candidates can download syllabus PDF from the given links

Click Here English

Click Here Hindi